#SheSharesTruth | Psalm 38

During Lent, She Reads Truth is encouraging their readers to write devotionals every Friday. They give a passage for everyone to write over and people link to their blog on the She Reads Truth website. It’s a beautiful cacophony of how God speaks to different women through the same passage!

This week’s passage is Psalm 38, where David is utterly crushed. A major theme of the She Reads Truth Lent plan has been feeling the weight of our sin. If we don’t understand the depth of our depravity, we cheapen the Cross. Amanda Williams wrote, “Let’s let the enormity of our sin sink in deep, so the enormity of the Cross can become more real to us than ever before.” In order to fully embrace the grace of God, we must understand how desperately we need it.

At first glance, Psalm 38 seems downright depressing. David talks about the afflictions that God is putting on him, using phrases such as “your arrows have sunk into me” (v. 2) and “I am feeble and crushed; I groan because of the tumult of my heart” (v. 8). David understands that God is deeply angered by his sin. Like David, we need to remember that God is absolutely perfect and undeniably holy – He cannot be in the presence of sin. It disgusts Him.

David knows how desperately he needs grace.

Charles Spurgeon wrote of Psalm 38, “Rebuked I must be, for I am an erring child and thou a careful Father, but throw not too much anger into the tones of thy voice; deal gently although I have sinned grievously…As thy love is most sweet to my heart, so thy displeasure is most cutting to my conscience.”

Matthew Henry’s Bible Commentary says, “Nothing will disquiet the heart of a good man so much as the sense of God’s anger. The way to keep the heart quiet, is to keep ourselves in the love of God. But a sense of guilt is too heavy to bear; and would sink men into despair and ruin, unless removed by the pardoning mercy of God.

The pardoning mercy of God. How sweet those words are! How much sweeter they are when we realize just how fiercely we need that mercy. David says, “I confess my iniquity; I am sorry for my sin…Do not forsake me, O Lord! O my God, be not far from me! Make haste to help me, O Lord, my salvation!” (v. 18, 21-22).

The good news? Jesus came so that salvation would never be far away.

Romans 6:23 – “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”
Ephesians 2:4-5 – “But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ – by grace you have been saved.”

What do you think about Psalm 38? What makes you thankful for the grace of God?

Under Grace,
Rachel

Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Bloglovin’

2 thoughts on “#SheSharesTruth | Psalm 38

join the conversation!

