Burning the Fields

Kansas farmers are acquainted with the rhythms of the earth. They know, like Ecclesiastes 3:2, a time to plant, and a time to harvest. They rub soil between cracked palms and grin at rainclouds with deep canyons of wrinkles. They know their land like they know their own children. They know how to make things grow.

Farmers burn their fields in order to clear them of weeds, dead stubble, and unwanted insects. The fire is a “reset” button of sorts, enabling unhindered new growth to happen. Burnt fields are completely open to whatever the farmer wants to plant, because there is no other growth to compete with.

Burning the fields is practically a rite of Spring in this part of the country. The grey clouds billow into the sky, and the unmistakable scent of scorched grass tickles your nose as you drive down the highway. Flames lick up the dry grass, moving like a huge black paintbrush across the landscape.

This Spring, I am praying that the Lord would burn the fields of my heart.

I am so thankful for this Easter season that we’re about to celebrate – proclaiming this Sunday that HE IS RISEN – but, as we all know, the death comes first. The Cross. The fire.

Through the Cross, Jesus justifies me. My sins are washed away, completely and forever. Yet while I am still on this earth, I struggle with sinful thoughts and actions. I have to bring those things under God’s authority, and be obedient to the sanctification He wants to work in me. I am justified, but I am continually being sanctified by fire.

I desperately want for Him to plant new life in me. I want to produce a harvest that glorifies Him. The newness of life that He promises? I yearn for it.

But the old cannot exist with the new. 

I am praying that the Lord would burn away my sinful thoughts and desires, my crooked motivations, my bad habits and my prideful attitude, and plant His spirit anew within me.

I am praying that God would consume me, leaving nothing of my depraved humanity behind.

I am praying that I would be laid low by His burning grace, that I would be given a fresh start, humble and empty and refined by fire, ready to be filled with Jesus.

Hebrews 12:29
For our God is a consuming fire.

1 Peter 1:7
…so that the tested genuineness of your faith – more precious than gold that perishes though it is tested by fire – may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ.

Zechariah 13:9
And I will put this third into the fire,
and refine them as one refines silver,
and test them as gold is tested.
They will call upon my name,
and I will answer them.
I will say, “They are my people”;
and they will say, “The LORD is my God.”

Under Grace,
Rachel

Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Bloglovin’

6 thoughts on “Burning the Fields

  1. Ah, loved your description in the beginning. Feeling as though I am right there experiencing it with you! And then your transition made my stomach flip with conviction. I long for the same thing. Praying that God would strip us of our sinful lusts and restore His life in us to yield a plentiful harvest!!!

    • Thank you, Jordyn 🙂 I’m so glad that this connected with you, and that I could give you a little taste of Kansas 😉 ! Like you, I’m praying that the Lord would burn out our sinfulness to bring about a harvest!

  2. I love this Rachel…..what a great analogy.
    This is going in my journaling session this morning. Thanks for giving me a good prayer to take to our Savior.
    I am so challenged and encouraged by the desire in your heart….thanks for faithfully pursuing Christ.

    • Amen, Lauren! I understand…the fire hurts, but it always refines us and makes us more like Christ. The pain, however hard, is always worth it in the end. I’m so thankful that we have a Savior that is able to sympathize with our pain and weaknesses, and He is faithful to walk with us through it.

join the conversation!

