Wardrobe Wish List

One of my goals for April is to re-vamp my wardrobe with well built staples. I’ve been purging my clothes like crazy for the past couple of months, and now it’s time to rebuild! I want to be investing in pieces that are well made, classic, and versatile. So, if I had oodles and oodles of money to drop right this second (I don’t), here’s what I would buy…
1. Everlane white button down shirt
2. TOMS Sunglasses
3. Chestnut Tieks shoes
4. Everlane leather tote
5. Striped tops for days
6. Everlane white v-neck shirt
7. Simple gold jewelry + boyfriend watch
8. Little Black Dress

Having a list like this keeps me from buying random stuff that I see on clearance at Target…a bad habit from which I am slowly recovering. Even though these pieces are more expensive, they’ll clock up years of use! I’d rather spend money on that than cheaply made clothes that will wear out in a few months.

What staples do you want in your closet?

Under Grace,
Rachel

Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Bloglovin’

10 thoughts on “Wardrobe Wish List

  1. I completely agree (and LOVE your sense of style)! I recently purged my closet and was surprised to find well-made clothes I purchased 8+ years ago in great condition while my cheap finds were treadbare – and this was not for lack of wear on any of the items! I’m all for saving money, but usually quality is more effective in the long run 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • Hey Holly! Thank you for stopping by!!

      Isn’t it so great when you find nice surprises in your closet?! I’m all for saving money, too…but the funny thing is, you end up saving money in the long run when you invest in a piece of clothing that will last you years and years instead of spending money on stuff that you have to replace all the time! You’re so right – quality is way more effective!!

  2. I am saving up for a few pieces that I really want and feel like would be versatile and long wearing- meaning I need to pay more than Target clearance price for them! 🙂

    I love your idea of making a style board like this as a wish list! 🙂

  3. I would love to just be able to have clothing that doesn’t have holes or paint stains, and that fit right. I have a habit of never restocking(I have a favorite sweatshirt that is 24 yrs old). Most of my clothing budget goes to my children. I do have a few staples like black, grey, and kahki pants. But I also do not buy a lot because I bought better clothing so it lasted longer. I usually get my girl’s castoffs if they fit me right. Their styles change so often that I usually come out pretty good.

  4. Yes, Target clearance is the American woman’s downfall!! haha But seriously…

    I am in need of a quality plain white/cream short sleeved shirt. I am super specific about sleeves though so that makes it tricky. I may have to do some research on this, because like you, I’d rather spend more money now than end up buying cheap shirts that won’t last or that I end up not wearing. Closet purges are the best, fo real. Plus, selling your clothes to consignment shops is awesome. Money for clothes I didn’t wear, sweet! 🙂

    • Hey Leah!! I understand being picky about your shirts…every body is different, and not all shirts are made equal! I think one of the most important things is fabric quality and cut.

      Oh my goodness, I *adore* getting money for clothes I don’t wear! It’s the best!

  5. Okay, seriously? We even have similar taste in CLOTHES. Haha I love the timelessness of these pieces. I’ve also been doing a lot of purging as of late. Except….the clothes are all just in a big pile in our guest room. I can’t decide if I should sell them so I have some spare cash for some new pieces….or if I should donate them for someone else to love..desicions..

    Specifically, I’m mad over anything striped, too!! I just found the cutest striped peplum top from gap that I snagged on clearance…but my cravings still aren’t satisfied because the stripes are navy. Aha, more shopping in my near future 😉

    Jordyn
    http://www.shewhofears.com

    • Clearly excellent minds think alike, Jordyn!! I knew I liked you!

      I’ve sort of done half and half with my clothes…I’ve donated a bunch, but I’ve also sold some in order to save up for other things. It’s a personal conviction, I think.

      STRIPES. Oh my goodness…yes. I can’t quite do peplum (something about accentuating my hips just doesn’t quite sit right with me) but I am in search of the perfect black and white long sleeved top. The one in the graphic is from J Crew, and it’s a whopping $98. Yikes!

join the conversation!

