Grace Upon Grace | 1

grace upon grace

Can I confess something?

I need to acknowledge the grace of God in my life on a regular basis to stay humble. If I don’t, I start thinking that the good things in my life are a direct result of my actions. That somehow I’m in control…and that leads to an awful lot of ugly pride.

The simple and glorious truth is that I am on the receiving end of amazing grace from God. He gives it joyfully, freely, exuberantly. He didn’t stop at the Cross…it wasn’t enough for Him to just save me from hell…He gives me grace upon grace on this side of heaven, too. He piles it on and I don’t deserve it.

John 1:14, 16
And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen His glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth…For from His fullness we have all received grace upon grace.

My friend Jordyn from She Who Fears has started a beautiful new link up party, entitled Grace Upon Grace. The idea is to share four evidences of the grace of God in your life lately.

“The reason I chose four as the target number is because honestly, Jesus has given us so many reasons to be thankful. Even in the seasons of life that are stormy, we should be able to find reasons to praise Him. Some days, finding four may come easily, or maybe we’ll have to do some digging and deep thinking, but either way I believe it will help us to be more cross-centered and less self-centered which will in turn cultivate a more joyful attitude of gratitude for the blessings that we are constantly receiving from the Father.”

I love what Jordyn says…“more cross-centered and less self-centered”. That’s the goal of the Christian life, is it not? More of Jesus, less of us? Recognizing that our lives are held in His grace?

Enough rambling 😉 Here are four evidences of God’s grace in my life lately:

O N E | Peaceful Sleep | A while back, I was having awful nightmares nearly every night. Horrible things that left me shaken, waking up sweaty and with a racing heart. Things like my family abandoning me, wars that I couldn’t stop, Hans being hurt and me being unable to help him. I dreaded going to bed at night, for fear of what would attack me in my sleep. And, like the stubborn person that I am, I didn’t tell anyone about it for a while. When I finally broke down and shared it with Hans, my parents, good friends, and our Sunday School class…people started praying for me, and the nightmares ceased. Hans would pray over me before we fell asleep, my friend Kendra would pray for me before she fell asleep, and so would my parents. I am so thankful for the grace of God and the prayers of others protecting me while I sleep!

T W O | Coffee | Yeah, this sounds silly. I don’t care. One of the richest evidences of God’s grace and comfort in my life is a hot cup of good coffee. It’s a small comfort that He has blessed me with, and I am thankful for it every. single. morning.

T H R E E | Boundaries | I’m reading this book by Cloud and Townsend, and it’s been rocking my world in all the right ways. I am learning that God gives me permission to say no to things that He hasn’t called me to, and that it’s ok to set limits on my time and commitments. I’ve spent a lot of my college years with no boundaries whatsoever, allowing people and organizations to use me in unhealthy and toxic ways. Unsurprisingly, it left me burnt out and bitter. It’s been a bit of a confusing journey, because so much of modern Christian culture tells us to give and give and give because it’s selfless. Personally, I think that’s a thinly veiled attempt to make others do what we want them to do, instead of what God wants them to do. There’s a difference. And I want to be following God, not people.

F O U R | Marriage | Ya’ll, it’s been so sweet in the Nordgren house lately. I feel like Hans and I are hitting a good stride in our relationship, learning trust and tenderness and grace with each other. Like most newlyweds, we still have our fair share of misunderstandings and arguments, but we’re learning to work through them quickly and with grace. Hans is one of the most precious examples of God’s goodness in my life, and lately our marriage really feels like a heaping of grace upon grace!

What “grace upon grace” are you seeing God do in your life lately?

Linking up with She Who Fears – Grace Upon Grace!

Under Grace,
Rachel

Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Bloglovin’

10 thoughts on “Grace Upon Grace | 1

  1. I love this Rachel!
    I need to participate in this link-up, because I think it’s so valuable to count the gracious things that our good God does for us!

    I am so thankful that your marriage is doing so well! What a blessing!
    Praying for you this week Rachel, and knowing that we need to catch up!
    🙂

    • Amen! I love Jordyn’s idea behind this linkup party, I really do. It’s less about us and more about God, and that tends to be a good thing 😉

      Whoosh! Marriage is a blessing…I get giggly just thinking about it 🙂

      Praying for you and Adam as well, Amy! Can’t wait to catch up soonly!!!!

  2. I am so glad you brought up the topic of boundaries! Lately, I have been realizing that I need boundaries in my life to feel healthy and not overwhelmed. I have been wanting to read a few of the Boundaries books. When I finish The Circle Maker, I think I’ll pick up the Boundaries book and the Boundaries in marriage one! I’m thinking about getting the workbook to go along with it as well:)

    • Hey Olivia! I’m really glad that you stopped by! Boundaries are *such* a healthy thing, especially when you’re feeling overwhelmed! I didn’t even know there was a Boundaries in Marriage book…I will have to look into that!

      What do you think of the Circle Maker? I haven’t read it yet!

  3. Super encouraged by your openness in this post! When Miles and I first got married, I used to have night terrors, too, and it got so bad that I was keeping myself up into the morning for fear of falling asleep and having those dreams. Way to go telling so many people and how wonderful that they are all interceding on your behalf! Jot me down on that list of people sweet friend!

    Also, coffee. Period. Haha

    • It’s really comforting to know that I’m not the only one who experienced scary stuff like that! I’m really glad that yours went away, and I’m also really glad that I have so many people praying for me. Thank you for joining that list, Jordyn…it means a lot 🙂

      Coffee. Yes. Have you ever heard of PT’s? It’s a coffee company based in Topeka where I live (…oh gracious, I’m breaking like all the internet safety rules here, but I already put my last name out there so whatever) that I used to work at. They’re a bit pretentious, but the coffee is ahhhmazing. Lots of single origins that will make your tastebuds do a tap dance.

      http://www.ptscoffee.com

  4. Boundaries is a great book! I’ve tried to drink coffee but I just don’t like how it makes me feel. I get really anxious. It must be the caffeine. I’m an earl grey kind of girl! Also I’m really glad that the night terrors have stopped. What a great feeling to know so many people are praying for you, especially your husband! Thanks for sharing these!

    • Hey Lauren! Yes – I’m really enjoying Boundaries so far 🙂 Have you read any of their other books?

      Also – earl grey tea for the win! I love it, but it just doesn’t have enough kick for me in the mornings 😉

      And yes! Thank you…I’m glad they’ve stopped, too 🙂

join the conversation!

