Hello May

FINALLY! Springtime, ya’ll! As Lara Casey said yesterday, May is the new January. I don’t know about you, but I feel in need of a fresh start. This winter has been long. The cold kept my productivity in hibernation forever, it felt like. No longer, I say!

Linking up with The Tiny Twig’s May Goals post!

Lara Casey is literally one of the sweetest and most inspiring people on the planet. She’s a Christian, wife, momma, the Editor-in-Chief of Southern Weddings, the co-creator of the Making Things Happen Conference, and has the loveliest shop, full of pretty paper goods like the desk card pictured below! She probably does a dozen other things, too.

Lara is the mastermind behind #PowerSheets, an incredibly useful planning and goal setting tool that I’ve been using for the past several months. They were such a good investment for me, and I nabbed another set during her recent shop sale. Actually, her shop is 25% off right now if you use the code in her most recent blog post 😉

Anyways, let’s talk about how awesome last month was, despite the cold!

Great things that happened in April:
1. Easter. I will never get tired of celebrating Jesus 🙂
2. A robin made her nest right outside!
3. Our first visit of the season to the Farmer’s Market.
4. Hans has been gardening LIKE A BOSS.
5. Snuggling in the mornings is literally my favorite.

How did I do on my April Goals?

1. Pray about and seek out a female mentor.
Yes! I’ve been praying about this a lot and have a couple women in mind, but I think it’s going to look a lot less formal than I originally thought. I trust whatever God gives me!
2. Plan an epic surprise for Hans’ birthday 🙂 
Nope. The epic surprise I had in mind didn’t quite work out, so we’re going to have an epic-end-of-the-schoolyear surprise instead!
3. Re-vamp my wardrobe with well-built staples.
As much as our budget would allow 😉 ! There will be a article on this one soon!
4. Collaborate with other bloggers!
Yes! This has been happening, and it’s been beautiful and exciting.
5. Make my own cleaning supplies.
In retrospect, I realized this was a silly goal. Why make a new bottle of DIY glass cleaner when I have a perfectly good bottle of commercial cleaner? So, I will be making my own cleaning supplies gradually, as I run out of normal stuff. This month I made my own Laundry Soap, Dishwasher Tabs, and Dusting Spray. Articles coming on those last two soon 🙂

Bonus! I DID have a freezer meal making day! There’s an article coming about that, too!

(it seems I have a lot of writing to do…hmm…)

May Goals:
1. Study the attributes of God
2. Plan a mini summer vacation for Hans and I
3. Make our office lovely + simple
4. { Secret Goal that I’m not sharing with the Internet 🙂 }
5. Look into IRA accounts and other investments

What do you think about making “May the new January”?
What goals do you have this month?

Under Grace,
Rachel

Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Bloglovin’

You might have missed: Hello April and Hello March.

8 thoughts on “Hello May

  1. I love hearing goals! I am always inspired to add a few more to my list! 🙂
    Can’t wait for your post on freezer meals girl!

    I hope that the mentoring thing works out! I have always really desired a relationship like that…but you are right that maybe that will just look more informal.

    And- I am glad I’m not the only one who has secret goals that I don’t post the the internet for all to see! 🙂

    • I plan on making the freezer meal post more than just “these are the recipes I used”…I want to include a shopping and prep list to make it easier for everyone else, too!

      Haha YES! It’s good to have secrets from the internet, sometimes 😉

      Always encouraged by your friendship, sweet girl 🙂

  2. Love the idea of studying the attributes of God. I did something similar a few years ago when reading through an eBook called Adoration prayers (I think). That may become my summer Bible reading!

    • Hey Ashley! Thank you for peeking in!

      I have a study page that I got a few years back that has 30 Attributes of God + Scripture references on it, so I’m going to work my way through that. I’ve never heard of Adoration Prayers before, though! What did you like most about it?

  3. I can’t wait to see your makeover on your office!! I’ll be staying tuned to also hear more about your “tiny dream” adventure, and to get little glimpses of my home state, which I miss dearly!

    • Hey Tonya! Thank you for stopping by Our Yellow Door! I’ll be posting some “after” pictures of the office soon…as soon as we get everything hung up 😉

      Kansas is your home state?! How lovely!

  4. We have a sweet little robin nest right outside of our back door with little blue eggies as well 🙂

    Ah, I can’t wait to hear about those freezer meals. I have a whole bunch to talk about on my blog, too……but as we all know I haven’t gotten around to that 🙂

    I’m loving your goal setting. It’s sort of inspired me and I think I might try to make a few goals for myself for the month. It must feel so rewarding marking off each one as you do it!

    ps. I finally got that candle from target. b l i s s .

    • Fun fact! Did you know that robins always lay eggs in sets of four? Like, if you took one of the four eggs out of their nest, they would lay another one to bring the number up to four again.

      Robins are a little OCD, I think.

      Hey – life happens. Amy once told me that if life didn’t get in the way sometimes, we’d have nothing to blog about!

      I am highly motivated by checking things off. Like, I’m that person who will write something on my to-do list after I’ve already done it, just so I can have the satisfaction of crossing it off. I use the PowerSheets from Lara Casey (www.laracasey.com) to keep me on track, and The Tiny Twig (www.thetinytwig.com) does a goal setting accountability link-up every month that I do, too. It really helps!

      YAY! I’m stoked you got that candle! Isn’t it just fabulous?!

join the conversation!

