DIY Dishwasher Tabs

You know when you venture into the magical land of Pinterest and you decide to try a project? And you’re like, “I really hope this works…”

And then it does.

And you’re like “Oh HECK yes!!”

That was me when I tried these DIY Dishwasher Tabs from Karrie at Happy Money Saver.
Ya’ll – it totally worked and it’s totally cheap. (Psst! Check out my article about her DIY Laundry Soap, too!)

I followed Karrie’s recipe, and would like to share it with you, too!

Ingredients:
1 Cup Washing Soda
1 Cup Baking Soda
3 packages unsweetened lemonade drink mix
1 Cup of Kosher Salt
1 Cup Water
>>>> You’ll also need several empty ice cube trays

Instructions:
1. Mix all ingredients (except water) together well.
2. Add water and wait until the mixture stops bubbling/fizzing.
3. Mix together until the mixture is the texture of wet sand.
4. Firmly press spoonfuls of the mixture into ice cube trays.
5. Place the trays in a sunny spot and let them dry for at least 24 hours.
6. Pop those puppies out and store in an airtight container! (I use a heavy ziploc bag)

The first couple times I used these, they definitely cleaned our dishes, but they left a cloudy residue on our tupperware 😦 I’m pretty sure this has something to do with our hard water, so I started throwing 1/2 cup of vinegar in the bottom of our dishwasher before loads. This acts as a rinse aid, and our dishes have come out sparkling clean ever since!

This recipe made about 2 dozen tabs for us, and they smell so lemony fresh 🙂 I love being able to save money on little things around the house!

One of my April goals was to make more of my own cleaning supplies, and so far I’ve made Laundry Soap and Dusting Spray. As I make more of my own home cleaners, I’ll be posting more recipes!

Have you ever made your own cleaning supplies? How did it go?

Under Grace,
Rachel

Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Bloglovin’

8 thoughts on “DIY Dishwasher Tabs

    • Hey Sarah! Thank you for stopping by!!

      YES – they are super simple to make! The hardest part is waiting for them to dry 😉 Have you come across any other cleaning product recipes that have worked for you??

  1. Love it! I totally agree about feeling like super-woman whenever a pinterest project is successful! 🙂

    Now, if only we had a dishwasher…..:)

join the conversation!

