Grace Upon Grace | 3

Hey there, fancy face.

How are you? How’s your day so far? How has Jesus been loving you lately?

The spunky and lovely Jordyn from She Who Fears has started a link up entitled Grace Upon Grace. The idea is to share four evidences of the grace of God in your life lately…and to encourage other women along the way!

Can I share some beauty that Jesus has been putting in my life lately?
Can you share some grace that’s been happening in your life in the comments below?

Let’s get started!

O N E | SPRING | Last night, Hans and I slept with the windows open and the sweet breeze flowing through the house. This morning as we awoke, the birds were positively choir-like outside. Flowers are blooming. The grass is sweet-green and soft. SUNSHINE, ya’ll. SUNSHINE. I literally cannot get enough of it after that stupid winter we had! It reminds me that even after the darkest of days, God always brings life.

T W O | Banjo | For those of you who haven’t heard me ramble about him before, Banjo is my sweet 3 year old rescue dog. He’s an Australian Shepherd/Border Collie/Chow (we think) mix, and he is the most lovable, cheerful, adorable pup. To say that he’s a gift from God is an understatement. It may sound silly, but Banjo gives me so much joy and comfort!

T H R E E | Mornings | 5:30am is my jam, ya’ll. Hans and I get up before the sun and spend our mornings drinking coffee and meeting God in His Word. Even though we do our quiet times separately, I love that we are seeking His face together at the dawn of our days. I prayer journal and read through the daily She Reads Truth devotional, and I’m also studying the attributes of God right now, too. There is such grace in the quiet and the stillness of the mornings, before the day gets away from me.

F O U R | Our Home | We are stupid crazy blessed to have our own place, especially in our first year of marriage. Our house is slowing starting to flourish into a home…but it’s taken a while! I’m learning that a home grows with you, and that it happens in slow steps. As we hang up artwork and photographs, tuck houseplants into corners and arrange books on the shelves, I am realizing just how precious of a gift our little house with the yellow door is.

What “grace upon grace” are you seeing God do in your life lately?

Under Grace,
Rachel

Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Bloglovin’

Linking up with She Who Fears – Grace Upon Grace!

She Who Fears || Grace Upon Grace

10 thoughts on “Grace Upon Grace | 3

  1. I love all these ways that the Lord is blessing you girl! And, your heart to be thankful for them! That’s awesome!
    Sunshine is so wonderful- like the calm after a storm, I love the faithfulness of God that is shown in the seasons.
    And- I am super inspired by your mornings! After marriage- Adam and I are still working into a schedule and routine…..but I DO really want to get up earlier, and like you said have that time with God before the day simply gets away.
    Glad your week is full of God’s grace Rachel!

    • Hey Amy!!

      I loved your post a while back about God knowing that we need change and variety, and that’s why He created the seasons. It’s so true! I know that in just a few months I’ll be whining for cold weather again 😉

      It totally took Hans and I a good six months or so to get our morning routine down. It’s a habit that definitely takes some practice and consistency. Adjusting your body to early rising takes a while! Give yourself grace on those mornings that you just do. not. want. to get out of bed!

  2. Your mornings sound awesome! I always go to bed with great aspirations to get up early to work out and then spend time in the Word, but then I hit the snooze… a couple of times. You inspire me to hit the snooze a few less times, to start off stronger. ❤

    And you should share the story of your house! We haven't been fortunate enough to even consider buying a home yet (we don't know where we'll end up next), but I would love to hear more about your journey in remodeling and fixing up your home.

    • Hey Megan!

      Yes…our mornings are lovely! BUT! Let me stress that IT WAS A PROCESS and we definitely don’t get it perfect all the time! Just last week I slept in until a sleepy 8am! It took so long for that to develop into a habit for us. It was a gradual adjustment! Don’t get hard on yourself 🙂

      Is that actually a story you’d like to read?! It was SO much work, and so I kind of envy you for never being a homeowner 😉 It’s a ton of responsibility. I’ll work on putting together an article on our home journey…although I confess, Hans did most of the “heavy work”!

  3. I would LOVE to start sleeping with the window open at night to let the breeze in! It sounds absolutely wonderful.

    I love your dogs name, Banjo! We have a 3 year old rescue dog too named Ryland. They really are such a blessing from God and I can agree with you that they do bring such joy and comfort.

    Mornings are one of my favorite times of the day too. I think if I could bring myself to get up that early I would. I love that you and your husband meet with God at the same time but on your own. I think that is so great 🙂

    I love how you said that your home grows with you. So true.

    • Hey there, Olivia!

      Ryland! What an adorable name for a dog! What kind is he/she? Rescue dogs are they BEST, don’t you think?!

      Getting up that early has definitely been a process for us. It also has a lot to do with our schedules, since my husband has to be at work by 7:30 and I have to be on campus by 8:00. It was a hard habit to develop, but it IS really great for both of us to have time to meet with God ❤

      What ways has your home grown with you??

  4. I feel like I’m just on the same vibe with you on life. Spring is happening here, too, and it’s so perfect. I liked that last sentence in the spring section: “It reminds me that even after the darkest of days, God always brings life.” That’s the same thing I’ve been telling myself as the snow melts up and the tulips push out of the ground.

    Ah, I envy your morning time. For a while I was doing good and waking up at seven but our bedtime just keeps getting pushed so far back that each morning seems to come way too soon. I wish we were morning people instead! Haha

    Loved hearing from you tis week. I love your writing style; you paint such lovely pictures in my noggin.

    • Jordyn, the more and more I read your blog and your comments, the more I am convinced that you and I are very much the same person!

      YES – we have tulips in our backyard, and it was so encouraging to see them pushing up past the cold. Springtime is such a poignant reminder (what with Easter and all, too!) that God has a way of bringing newness after the death of winter.

      Don’t be envious of our morning time! It cracks me up, but the last two mornings I have definitely NOT gotten up at 5:30 😉 It’s still a process for us. We slip up sometimes…especially for me with finals! Lots of late nights! Being a morning person isn’t for everyone, and it definitely takes time to develop the habit.

      I always love hearing from you, too 🙂 You inspire me and make me laugh, and I appreciate your voice and tenacity! Keep at it, lady!

  5. My four evidences of grace I believe for me are my four daughters.
    Lydea-she is my eternal optimist. Hardly ever negative, and she is teaching me that in love and life there should be no fear. She is everybodys friend and an awesome encourager. She is the one you want on your team even when you are losing.
    Rylee-She is probably the most like me not just in looks but temperment as well. She is teaching me that you can’t always trust your emotions but you can trust God and His word. It is steadfast and unchanging. She always gives me hugs and tells me she loves me. She is gifted with being a gabber too and loves to verbalize her feelings.
    Emery-she is teaching me patience. The most stubborn of them all. But her love for spending quality time teaches me the importance of one on one time daily with the Lord. Her strength is unending and her passion for life certainly keeps me on my toes.
    Noble-her laughter is like a medicine to my heart. Her giggle should be bottled and sold. Sensitive and sweet, she has taught me that life isn’t so bad and that I need to laugh more… a lot more.
    God knew I needed these four daughters to grow and challenge my spirit and I am so blessed to be given the opportunity to have them in my life.

    • Amy! I loved reading about your beautiful daughters…they sound like such lovely, strong, independent ladies. I love how you talked about the ways that each daughter points you closer to Christ. How amazing and blessed!

      Also, their names? So unique!

join the conversation!

