Grace Upon Grace | 5

Happy Monday, you Moxie Maven, you!!

Moxie – force of character, determination, or nerve
Maven – from Hebrew: means one who understands, based on an accumulation of knowledge, a trusted expert in a particular field, who seeks to pass knowledge on to others

Today, I don’t know what you’ve set your nerve to, what you’re determined about, what knowledge you’re becoming an expert in or who you’re sharing it with, but this I do know:

You’re loved. And you can do this.

Friend, Jesus really does love you, and He will help you overcome whatever you’re facing today. Maybe it’s not going to be in the way you expect, and maybe He’s going to overcome it for you by telling you a solid “no”. But He is your great source of strength, and He is crazy about you.

And that’s good news for a Monday.

My lovely friend Jordyn from She Who Fears started this intentional and beautiful link up called Grace Upon Grace. Her idea behind it? “Let’s dwell on how Jesus is radically moving in our lives and transforming our hearts and blessing us with grace upon grace.” Each week, she challenges herself and others to write about at least four evidences of God’s grace, and to encourage others. I love it…being intentional about marking the goodness of God in the everyday. So, can I share some grace that God’s been giving me lately?

Can you share, too?

O N E | Real Mail | Post and parcels, oh my! Recently, I’ve received letters from dear friends…
– Lyndee, who rocks a pixie haircut, shops at the farmer’s market, and does hot yoga…fabulous lady, I tell you!
– Carly, my best friend who is incidentally married to Hans’ best friend, which is just very tidy.
– Amy, the adventurous, funny, and massively encouraging beauty behind Lovely Does It.
– The aforementioned Jordyn, who made me a drop dead gorgeous watercolor Scripture print…I can’t even tell you how pretty and perfect it is!
It’s such an encouragement to know that someone took the time to sit down and write to me. Old fashioned correspondence is just the best, don’t you think?

T W O | Finals are OVER | Which is just a heap of grace, if you ask me. Hans finishes teaching this week, and then we have the whole summer to ourselves. // bliss //

T H R E E | She Reads Truth | This online Bible study community adds so much goodness to my walk. The women who lead SRT are desperate for Jesus and thirsty for His Word, and that translates into the studies they put together. Right now we’re working our way through Nehemiah, and there’s so much goodness and truth to be learned!

F O U R | Hans | Hans was going through some of our books, because books are definitely something we have to simplify if we are ever to live in a tiny house. He put two of my C.S. Lewis books in the purge pile, because we had those books in another anthology. I, being my stubborn self (who also loves British authors), picked them up and put them back on the shelf. Hans took the anthology and put it in the pile, and I swiftly stuck it back. “Rachel!” he said, exasperated, “that’s redundant! We have double copies of those books!” and I got defensive and was like, “But the anthology has other books that he wrote!
Just leave my Lewis alone!”
Hans just burst out laughing. “That just sounds really funny…like I was bullying him or something,” he said, chasing me into the office because I had started laughing too, and I hate it when I fail at being serious. And then he said sorry and I said sorry and what could have turned into a fight just became a fit of giggling over the thought of bullying C.S. Lewis.
Embarrassing, but that’s real life and real grace.

What “grace upon grace” has God given you lately?

Under Grace,
Rachel

Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Bloglovin’

Linking up with She Who Fears – Grace Upon Grace!

She Who Fears || Grace Upon Grace

11 thoughts on “Grace Upon Grace | 5

  1. This WAS encouraging on my Monday!
    Thanks for writing this and making us all feel like we are THERE with you experiencing these things! That’s writing talent!

    And I love your giggling fit! It’s way better to be on the verge of an argument and start laughing instead of bickering!

    Yay for being DONE with finals!

    • I just love love LOVE sharing life with you, Amy. Every single time I read one of your comments I am just so silly happy 🙂

      HA! I don’t know about writing talent, but I’m glad that I could help you experience my crazy life 😉 The giggling fit was such a blessing…you’re right, laughing instead of bickering is always better…especially when it’s about something as insignificant as a couple of books!

  2. I love getting letters! I have gotten several in the past few days, and you’re right, it is very encouraging to get real mail that is not bills. And I have been loving the Nehemiah study too! It has brought me such peace and opened my eyes even further to the amazingness that is God. I’m glad you had such a grace-filled week, and woohoo for finals being over!!!

    • Hey Megan!!! You’re so right – mail that is NOT bills is just the best. It’s nice when someone besides the water company loves you 😉

      It’s so lovely to share Nehemiah with so many awesome women. I love reading the comments every day and seeing people’s insights. What’s the most significant thing that you’ve learned so far??

  3. Rachel, you are so great. I can just feel your joy pouring out through this post and that warms my heart.
    Ah, CONGRATS on finishing those finals. It will be so rewarding to spend a few months with Hans. Do you two have any exciting plans?? Maybe a road trip to Wyoming and beyond? 😉
    SRT has been crazy great to me lately, too. However, all of this teamwork and friendship talk is making me miss my Reno buddies like crazy!

    Ps-LOVING your insta feed lately. Such pretty photos.

    • Jordyn! YOUR WORDS warm my heart…a lot 🙂

      Thank you! I’m ridiculously happy to be done with them 🙂 You may have told me this somewhere, but does Miles have finals? When is he done?

      Summer plans…not really! Our summer was nuts last year so we’re taking it easy, but maybe a road trip would be fun! 😉 I just looked, and our route would go through Denver. And we love ourselves some Colorado 🙂

      I totally understand! (Our two best friends moved to Texas, which makes us all frowny) But it sounds like you guys are building quite the community in WY…especially with your community group! That’s incredibly beautiful!

      Ps – thanks!! Your feed is all sorts of lovely, too. Following artsy people on IG is a big encouragement to me every single day 🙂

      • Woohoo! Miles actually finished finals last…Monday? I think that’s when 🙂 He ended up with 98% in both of his classes! (sorry, proud wife moment)

        Dang! what did you do last summer (eek, did you already tell me in an email??)? I like to live vicariously through vacation stories… 🙂

        • Um, you should be proud!! That’s awesome for Miles!! *high five*

          Haha…last summer we were planning our wedding and gutting/remodeling our new house, mostly ourselves. Hans was also down in Oklahoma for a few weeks. It was absolute chaos. Our “dates” were trips to Home Depot! We’re really looking forward to a chill couple of months!!

  4. I absolutely love sending and receiving snail mail! It bring my heart so much.

    SRT has been so on point. I love how you described the women as “desperate for Jesus and thirsty for His Word.”

join the conversation!

