DIY Dusting Spray

Annnnnd the DIY cleaning supplies journey continues!

Since April, as we’ve been running out of our store-bought house cleaners, I’ve been replacing them with DIY ones. So far, I’ve made Laundry Soap and Dishwasher Tabs, and I’m experimenting with a Swiffer Wet Jet Solution, too. With hairy pets, I spend much quality time with my Swiffer Wet Jet.

I used to be terrible about dusting, to the point where you could draw little smiley faces in the gray funk covering the surface of our dresser. Ick! But, since putting this piece of preciousness up on the fridge, my home cleaning schedule has stayed on track without becoming overwhelming. And Tuesdays? Tuesdays are dusting days.

So, I tried this recipe from One Good Thing by Jillee. I had to modify it slightly because I only have one bottle of essential oil in the house (sidebar: does anyone here use essential oils? The steep price kind of freaks me out, but I want to try more of them), and it works fabulously.

Ingredients:
1 Cup Water
1/4 Cup Vinegar
2 tsp. Olive Oil
10-15 Drops of Essential Oil (I used some sort of “calming blend” I had on hand, Jillee suggests lemon or some other citrus scent)
>>>> You’ll also need a spray bottle.

Instructions:
1. Mix all ingredients together in a spray bottle.
2. Shake well.
3. When you’re dusting, you’ll want to give the bottle a wee shake before each spritz to keep the oil from separating.

It’s as simple as that. This works great, keeps our surfaces shiny and clean, and smells lovely. No worries – essential oils are very concentrated, so you don’t really smell the vinegar (which cuts through grease and grime) at all.

Do you hate dusting?

Under Grace,
Rachel

Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Bloglovin’

Other Lovely Reads…
Thoughts on True Rest
A Sweet Little Herb Garden
Gluten Free Pumpkin Bars
A Great Series on Simplifying Your Home
A Gorgeous Southern Military Wedding

11 thoughts on “DIY Dusting Spray

  1. Girl, I HATE dusting.
    I don’t mind other chores, but dusting is one that I avoid at all costs.

    Now, do I feel better about LIFE if I dust, yes….but that does not mean I always do it.
    I like the idea of a chore sheet, I will have to check that out!
    Making your own cleaning supplies is such a good project…I think I want to be more intentional about that….for one because a lot of chemicals are just bad for you…and for two, I am tired of having 27 different bottles of whatever sitting around, I would rather have more practical things that I can make into different supplies.
    That’s why I love coconut oil so much, because you can use it for so many different things!

    • The chore sheet is splendid! It helps me keep on top of everything without being overwhelmed, since it’s just one thing a day…and Sunday’s chore is to relax!
      As we run out of conventional cleaning supplies, I’m replacing them with homemade ones. I *hate* nasty chemicals and having a ton of bottles, too!
      And YES! Coconut oil is absolutely marvelous. We just bought another huge jar and I’ve already used it in like 14 different things. What creative ways have you used coconut oil?!

  2. I love this! I have just ordered my first ever essential oils and just got them yesterday. I am definitely a newbie, but I will keep you posted. I was worried about the price too, but just couldn’t resist after reading all the wonderful benefits and success people have had. I am planning to make my own cleaners as well! I will definitely have to try this dusting spray. I’m just trying to avoid all the harsh chemicals that we use daily.

    I also love the idea of a cleaning schedule!

    • Hey Martha!! I’m so glad you stopped by!
      Please excuse me whilst I inundate you with questions for a moment…Where did you order your oils from? Which ones did you order? How are they working out so far? What have you used them in?
      Yes – avoiding harsh chemicals is something I definitely want to be doing, too! It’s amazing how much crap we unknowingly bring into our homes! Essential oils seem like a really great alternative!

  3. I love all these DIY cleaning supplies posts. Now I want to try this too! I think I am going to ask for essential oils for Christmas this year. Till then I might just buy the ones at the grocery store. Right now I have lavender that I use for my hair. I wonder if that would make a good dusting spray! Do you use a normal cloth to wipe it?

    • Hey Lauren!! Thank you! I’m so glad you’re enjoying these posts…they’ve been fun little experiments to write about!
      Lavender would be great for a dusting spray! I think it just really depends on what scents you and Reed like. It would definitely make your house smell very calming 🙂 What grocery store do you buy yours at?! I don’t think there’s a grocery store in our area that would even carry essential oils!
      And yes – I just use a normal rag to wipe and buff 🙂

  4. Pingback: Lovely Does It

  5. I haven’t tried diy dusting spray yet. And yes, I despise dusting. It kind of grosses me out when I think about what dust really is. Maybe that’s why I don’t have a lot of knick knacks sitting around.lol

    • Hey there!! Yes, dust is gross when you think about it…all the more reason to clean it up often! And I concur on the knick knacks…we don’t have a lot either! If you try out this spray, let me know how it goes!!

  6. Goodness, I literally dust every. single. day. And sweep/vacuum. We live in an area that is pretty dusty itself and then the home we rent just blows all the nasty dirt from the basement upstairs. Hopefully now that it’s summer I will be able to ease up, but I go through dusting spray so fast that I’m definitely gonna keep this in mind the next time I run out! Thanks lady!!

    • Ugh. That sounds terrible! I would be cleaning all the time, too! You should talk to your landlord about dust blowing from the basement. That sounds straight up nasty.
      If you try this out, let me know how it goes! The vinegar definitely helps clean things (not just get the dust off), which I bet is a pretty big concern of yours.

join the conversation!

