3 Ways To Simplify Pinterest

Do you remember when you fell in love with Pinterest? For me, it was somewhere around my sophomore year of college, back when you still had to have an invitation to get on Pinterest. (Crazy, right?!) I put off joining until Christmas Break, because my all-or-nothing personality would have been like “Pin ALL the things!” instead of “Study for ALL the finals!” and that’s just a recipe for disaster.

On my first day of Christmas break that year, I lazily slept in at my parents’ house, woke up, made myself a mug of hot chocolate, and promptly curled up in front of Pinterest for the whole. darn. day.

It was glorious, ya’ll.

That was nearly four years ago. Not surprisingly, I’ve changed a lot since then! My Pinterest, though, hadn’t really changed. Sure, I kept pinning things willy-nilly, but there was still four years of things built up in there. I had close to 3,000 Pins and 19 super unorganized boards. My Pinterest didn’t represent who I am today, it was incredibly hard to find things, and I was always seeing things in my feed that didn’t apply to me.

BEFORE
(Click to enlarge)

My “Something Crafty” board had over 200 Pins. Like heck I have time to make over 200 crafting projects…!

AFTER
(Click to enlarge)

Ahh…hello, you simplified Pin-tastic beauty!

I went from nearly 3,000 Pins on 19 boards to under 1,000 Pins on 33 boards.

I’ll presume that you might be thinking, “Well Rachel, that’s great for your clearly OCD self, but why would I want to simplify my Pinterest?” Because your Pinterest is an detailed online representation of your style, interests, and tastes. If you’re a blogger or a small business owner, your Pinterest also represents your “brand” to your readers and customers. Having an outdated and cluttered profile can communicate to someone that you’re outdated and cluttered.

Ouch!

So, simplifying your profile is definitely a worthwhile thing! Fair warning: it’s a time consuming process, but the final result will make you so glad you did it.

S T E P | O N E | Purge Your Pins

As you go through your boards one by one, evaluate your content. Do the things on your boards represent who you are today…or are they things you liked five years ago? Are your boards applicable to your daily life…or are you spending hours pinning for a “fantasy self”? Ask yourself the following questions as you go through your boards…

Do I actually like this? Does this inspire me?
Does this represent me today…my style and passions?
Would I ever actually wear this?
Would I ever actually make this?
Do I have a better pin of this someplace else? Duplicates?
Does this link even lead to what I think it does?

S T E P | T W O | Organize Your Boards

As I purged, I created new boards to further organize my Pinterest. Instead of having one board for “Food”, I created four boards – Food, Snacks, Drinks, and Dessert. Instead of having one board for girly things, I created three – Clothes, Accessories, and Beauty. This helps me quickly find what I’m looking for!

I also numbered my boards and labeled them as “Trays”…because I’m occasionally pretentious and I thought “Tray” sounded sophisticated. Go ahead, feel free to judge 😉 Numbering the boards allowed me to put them in whatever order I wanted, so I wasn’t limited to Pinterests’ default alphabetization. That way, they’re organized on the little drop down list when I want to pin something new.

Note – if you number your boards, use “01, 02, etc.” instead of “1, 2, etc.” If you don’t, Pinterest will put 1 next to 11. Don’t ask me why.

S T E P | T H R E E | Unfollow

The more people you follow on Pinterest, the more Pins your homepage will be flooded with. Chances are, not everyone you follow inspires you, right? There are probably people who have radically different fashion/home styles than you. There’s probably a person who annoys you with all their workout related Pins when you’re just trying to find a recipe for dessert.

Unfollow those people! The internet can be discouraging enough…give yourself some control over it. Make room in your feed for content that inspires, encourages, and relates to you.

You can find my full Pinterest profile here.

Would you ever consider Simplifying your Pinterest?

Under Grace,
Rachel

Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Bloglovin’

Other Lovely Reads…
Styling a Hat
Grace Upon Grace
Healthy Chocolate Granola Bars (Yup. Healthy AND Chocolate.)
How To Host an Instagram Giveaway
Emily Ley’s New Product Line! Joy + Simplicity!

Linking up with Chantel at A Harvest Of Blessing!

A Harvest of Blessing

28 thoughts on “3 Ways To Simplify Pinterest

  1. Reorganizing my pinterest has been on my to-do list for a few months now. I also got my pinterest in college and repinned what seems like everything. I’ve gotten overwhelmed just thinking about doing it, but I think you’ve motivated me. Thanks for the post!

  2. I love this idea, Rachel! I haven’t ever even thought of this. I don’t follow a ton of people on Pinterest, because of that exact idea- I don’t want my Pinterest feed to be saturated with things I don’t care for. I do have quite a few pins though and I’m sure there are plenty I could delete. Thanks for the tips (and the shout out!) 🙂

    • Hey there, Christina!! I’m so glad you stopped by, friend!

      YES – I found that so many of the things I had pinned in earlier years just did not apply any more. If a reader or a new follower or maybe even a future employer (!!) was looking through my boards, they wouldn’t get a very accurate picture of who I am today.

      And I think this is only my second time on the Jack of All Trades Link Up. It’s fabulous!

  3. I went through and organized my Pinterest boards when I was between jobs last year. I didn’t finish, but it made me feel a lot better. It’s probably more than time to do it again. And I think you can rearrange your boards in any order you want (even without the numbers) – just click and drag 🙂

    • Hey Jenny!! I’m so glad you stopped by!

      Yes…an organized Pinterest does make you feel so much better, doesn’t it?! Way to go for already having done it!

      You’re right! You can click and drag, which was very helpful for me before I numbered my boards 🙂 Numbering them keeps them in order on that little drop down list when I want to pin something new, though. And my OCD tendencies like that!

  4. Haha, I totally signed up back when you needed an invitation, so, so long ago it seems.
    I totally agree with the whole idea of this, I like to keep my boards organized-ish, it’s been awhile since I’ve gone through them and I know there are some things I need to update/change. Thanks for reminding me 🙂

    • Hey Chantel! Haha you’re right…the days of Pinterest invitations seems so crazy long ago!

      I’m glad this post reminded you to update your profile! We’re definitely on the same page…keeping boards organized and updated = oh happy day! Hope my tips help you!!

  5. Yes, yes, and YES! Thanks so much for sharing this. My Pinterest is soooo unorganized–all of my fashion and beauty is in ONE board. And that’s just the beginning. I know what I’ll be doing tomorrow!

  6. This is for serious….some really good stuff.
    And- feeling embarrassed about my pinterest now…..
    Just kidding! But the purging part, I DEF need to do! 🙂
    Good tips Rachel!

  7. You are so smart. I really need to do this, I keep getting annoyed at my organization on Pinterest, but haven’t done anything about it. Okay… I am off to tackle two boards before bed. Thanks for the motivation!!!

  8. I have been going through to make sure my pinstagram is organized and looks nice and also I try to be a picky pinner! Still there are some great ideas here that I need to put into place!

join the conversation!

