Grace Upon Grace | 7

Hello, sweet friend!

Can I get serious with you for a second? Let me put my hands on your shoulders, look you straight in the eye, and say this: I’m glad you’re here. Whoever you are, however you got here, and no matter how long you’re going to stay…I’m glad you’re here.

Truly, thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m linking up with Jordyn at She Who Fears and her weekly Grace Upon Grace series. I love her heart behind the link up…to share evidences of God’s grace in our lives lately. It’s madly encouraging to read her posts, and I hope you’ll join in, too!

Here’s some of the sweet grace Jesus has been blessing me with lately!

O N E | Hansย | He was out of town all last week ( ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) and it. was. awful. I know some people who are in long distance and they’re like, “Psh? A week? Try being apart for 3 months!” Yeah, yeah, yeah. I get it. But when you’re madly in love with someone, any amount of time spent apart is the worst. Hans came back on Saturday, and just having his laugh and his embrace and his morning snuggles back in my life has made me crazy grateful. Not to mention, a lightbulb went out and I didn’t know where new ones were because he normally takes care of that. #embarrassing #cluelesswife

T W O | Sunshine | So, our dryer broke a few weeks ago. Which (thankfully) hasn’t been a problem, because God made sure it broke in springtime instead of winter. We’re able to hang our clothes on the line outside (which makes me feel all “Little House on the Prairie”) and let the warm sunshine dry them!

T H R E E | Amy + Jordyn | God’s been so good to me through these two ladies, ya’ll! When I started blogging on Our Yellow Door, I was definitely afraid that no one would ever read it and that I wouldn’t make any friends. How wrong I was! Amy and Jordyn have both been encouraging fellow bloggers who inspire me on the daily and bless me with community. This past week we got together for a “coffee date” Google hangout!! We talked for over two hours about faith, marriage, jobs and blogging. We laughed and encouraged one another and we were all drinking coffee, which made it feel like it was almost in real life. Seeing their faces and hearing their voices was equal parts crazy and wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚

F O U R | Hans…again… | I know. I’m gushing. But seriously, this man has just been blessing my socks off lately. He’s incredibly supportive of me and Our Yellow Door. Hansย knows how much I love blogging and even though I’m not making a cent off of it right now, he wants me to keep doing it. A few weeks ago I timidly brought up the idea of joining the Influence Network and going to the Influence Conference. I say “timidly” because neither of those things are cheap, and we’re currently on one income. But it’d been on my heart, and you’re supposed to share your heart with your spouse. Hans was quiet for a few minutes (not in a bad way…in a “crunching numbers in my brain” way) and then he said the words that made my jaw hit the floor: “I think we should send you…I want to support you in this.”

Oh my stars. That man, ya’ll…that man.

InfluenceConf

(hopefully!)

Want to help Jordyn go to the Influence Conference, too? Support her throughย her gorgeous Etsy shop, Steel and Twine! Also peek into this post for an exclusive S&T discount code…just for Our Yellow Door Readers!

What “grace upon grace” are you seeing God do in your life lately?

Under Grace,
Rachel

Other Lovely Reads…
Cinnamon Vanilla French Press Coffee (yes please)
This Fabulously Feminine and Rustic Weddingย (I’m swooning so hard)
Thoughts on Contentment
Brand vs. Brandingย (helpful for bloggers!)
Make Chicken and Vegetable Nicoise!

Linking up with She Who Fears – Grace Upon Grace!

She Who Fears || Grace Upon Grace

10 thoughts on “Grace Upon Grace | 7

  1. I am SO glad that your husband is home! It’s never fun to be apart no matter how long or how short. But it’s so good to be reminded of all the things you love about your guy! ๐Ÿ™‚

    And- our coffee date was SO good! Thanks for doing that! I was so encouraged and so giddy about getting to actually “meet” you too! Definitely blessed by your friendship and support! ๐Ÿ™‚

    And- awesome for getting to go to the Influence Conference! I am so excited for you!

    • Ah, me too ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s so cliche, but absence DOES make the heart grow fonder.

      The coffee date was just the best. Hopefully next time your internet won’t be such a loser! Jordyn and I felt like every time you got on a roll about something good, it would cut out!

  2. Your husband sounds sweet – it’s no small thing to take a leap of faith on someone’s dream. I’m in a similar situation where my husband is the bread winner while I work on a graduate degree and write fiction. I’m scared it won’t add up to anything in the end, but he makes me feel like it’s worthwhile. It’s such a blessing.

    • Hey there, Michelle! Thank you so much for stopping by!

      Yes, Hans is just the sweetest ๐Ÿ™‚ Your husband sounds like it, too! You’re right – their support is such a blessing. Especially when you’re not sure what’s going to come of the words you write!

    • Rachel, I’m so thankful for their community, too! And the fact that we get to be part of the larger blogger community with you and so many other lovely ladies ๐Ÿ™‚ God’s been blessing my socks off through it all ๐Ÿ™‚

      Also, it would be so great if you could go to Influence!!

  3. How about being apart for 6! months! Haha but I know that evening just when D works weekends and I don’t it can be hard not having him around when I am used to it. (And I’ll be home in under a month! Woohoo!!)

    I wish that I could go to the Influence Conference this year, I just found out about them a few months ago, and just became a member of the Network. But there are a bunch of things in the way, the least of which is finances, so I am hoping for next year. Is there any way that I can support YOU going?

    And I am jealous about hanging wash outside. Our current apartment doesn’t have a yard or space outside to do that, and I miss the smell of sun-dried sheets.

    • Under a month?! That’s awesome, Megan!!

      Haha yes, I don’t envy you guys having to be apart for six months. That sounds just terrible in my opinion!

      It would be so great if you could go to the Influence Conference next year! I still have to officially become a member of the Network and get my ticket. How do you like being a member so far?

      You’re so kind for wanting to know how you can support me!! That just knocked my socks off, Megan. Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Please just pray for me and for this wee lil’ blog of mine, that I would be honoring God through it.

      Ahh, yes. Sun dried sheets are the best. Unless a bird leaves a little doo-doo on them ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. Ah, I’m so glad Hans is back for you ๐Ÿ™‚ Miles has been gone since Thursday (only until tomorrow night) and I feel the same way #cluelesswifeclub

    Ah, I am pretty sure I’m never going to get over how much joy our coffee date brought me! I can’t wait to meet you in real life!

    Ah, I’m sorry about your dryer, although I can just imagine your clothes all pinned up and drying. It seems so..you. Simplified and neat and clean. That’s what I think.

    • Hans is gone again at a teacher’s conference (*insert wailing emoji*) and YES I feel all sorts of clueless again. Like, what? It rained last night? Probably should have rolled up the windows on the car…

      YES. Real life!! Cannot wait!! Influence Conference, here we come!

      It made me smile so much to read that hanging clothes up on the line seems like a “me” thing…thank you, Jordyn ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t care if it makes me a stereotypical Kansan!

join the conversation!

