How To Become A Morning Bird

Let me tell you a thing.

2 am was an “early” bedtime for me. For six or seven years.

Sometimes I would stay up until 4 or 5 am. I often slept until noon not out of laziness, but sheer exhaustion. I knocked back coffee and those little 5 Hour Energy bottles of artificial berry tasting terribleness. I tried to force myself into early-rising, without success, for years.

So when I tell you that I’m now a cheerful morning person (and I LIKE IT) you need to understand that that’s the equivalent of a Democrat becoming a Republican.

Unprecedented, unusual, and unbelievable.

I don’t care how whacked out your sleep schedule is, how well acquainted you are with 4am, how many alarm clocks you’ve broken from half-asleep violent pounding (me? two) or whether or not the night crew at the 24 hour coffee shop knows you by name.

YOU CAN BECOME AN EARLY BIRD.

Because if I can do it, anyone can do it. Literally, anyone.

Okay? Okay. Here we go!

1. Give Yourself Grace
Becoming an early riser does not happen overnight. Pun intended. Your body needs time to adjust to a new sleep routine, especially if you’re in the habit of staying up late. Getting in the routine of rising around 5:30 am took me six months!

2. Give Yourself a Reason to Get Up
Popping out of bed at the break of dawn is a lot easier when you have something to look forward to. I love the routine of starting my mornings with coffee, Jesus, and She Reads Truth. Maybe you want extra time to put together a nice outfit, craft, make a fancy breakfast, blog, work out, or ____. Whatever it is, look forward to it!

3. Give Yourself Rest
The biggest key to getting up early is going to bed early, and giving your body enough sleep. Get 7-8 hours of sleep a night. Period. You won’t want to get out of bed if you’re still exhausted.

Here’s a nifty video about sleep if you don’t believe me.

4. Give Yourself Accountability
A huge reason I’m now a morning person is my husband. Having another person (a roommate, a friend you text in the morning, your spouse, your dog…whoever!) that you’re accountable to is both encouraging and motivating!

5. Give Yourself Good Stuff
Set yourself up for success, friend! Here are some ideas…

  • Make your bedroom a peaceful place
  • Do some yoga before going to sleep
  • Make your bed so you look forward to getting into it
  • Burn yummy-smelling candles
  • Eliminate technology an hour or two before bedtime
  • Drink water or herbal tea
  • Wear cute pj’s

Humans are creatures of habit, and the more of a positive routine you create for yourself, the more successful you will be at going to bed early and rising early.

After six months of readjusting my sleep schedule and learning to go to bed at 9:30pm, this former night owl is now a chipper early bird. It takes time, it takes trial and error, and it takes a lot of grace. But it’s entirely possible.

Are you an aspiring early bird?

Under Grace,
Rachel

Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Bloglovin’

Other Lovely Reads…
What Makes You Feel Alive?
How To Clean Your Sinks
Great Thoughts On Clothes
Fantastic Etsy Finds
Stress-Free Travel With Your Spouse

Linking up with Chantel at A Harvest Of Blessing!

A Harvest of Blessing

35 thoughts on “How To Become A Morning Bird

  1. during college, i could wake up between 6 and 8am, but when i needed to get up at 5am for work it took me about three months for my body to adjust. and i actually like it, cos i get to have really quiet times with the Lord. by 9pm i conk out so i get about 8 hrs of sleep.

    the video is really informing, and i like the idea of candles and cutting off technology before bedtime. it’s really true what they say ‘early to bed, early to rise.’

    • Hey there, Gen! Thanks for stopping by again!

      Absolutely…our bodies need time to adjust to new sleep schedules! That video was made by one of my favorite YouTubers, so I’m glad you liked it!

      My husband and I aren’t always good about cutting off technology before bedtime, but it definitely helps when we do!

  2. It always feels like there are more hours in the day when I wake up early. Babies have thrown off my schedule throughout the years (I just get sleep whenever I can), but I’m trying to get back into an early routine. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Hey there, Nicki! Thank you so much for popping in!

      Ahh yes, I totally agree! There DO seem to be more hours in the day when you get up early! I can’t imagine how hard it is to establish a good sleep routine when you have kids, though! Eeek! Best of luck, friend!

  3. I am not an early bird at all!
    But pretty eager to join the 5am club so that I have the time to read, pray, make a breakfast, pack lunch, and make myself look human. Having the accountability sounds like a great idea! – Just not sure there are many folks out there who will join the 5am club with me 😉

    • Hey Lorraine! I’m so glad you stopped by, friend!!

      Let me tell you – I used to not be an early bird AT ALL. I was a night owl, and proud of it. But early rising has definitely given me more time to intentionally start my day, and that’s been a lovely trade-off 🙂 Give yourself grace, though. Don’t aim for 5am right off the bat…start waking up in 15 or 30 minute increments earlier each day.

      Accountability…hmm! Do you have a friend in your city who is also interested in early rising? You could challenge each other to get up an hour earlier one week, and the “loser” has to take the other person out for coffee or something!

      Can you tell I’m a bit competitive? 😉

  4. Hi Rachel! I found your post through A Harvest of Blessing link up and this is something that has been super hard for me! I’ve gotten into the bad habit of going to bed at 11pm-12am and can’t wake up before 7:30am. I need at least 8 hours of sleep and find that waking up so late has affected different areas of my life including prayer/reading the Word and forgetting to bring the right things for lunch like I did today :/ I agree that having something to look forward to is key but it’s so hard when my mind and body are telling me to stay in bed. I’ll keep trying until by God’s grace this bad habit is broken!

    • Hey there, Liv!! I’m so glad you found me through the Harvest of Blessing link up!

      Your body absolutely needs 8 hours (or more!) of sleep a night. I found that my body would fight me for rest if I tried to shortchange it! Not giving myself enough time for sleep meant that I was waking up later than I wanted to. Try cranking your bedtime back in 15-20 minute increments one night at a time and see how it goes!

      Meeting with the Lord in the mornings is such sweet time! I hope that you’re able to get up earlier with His grace, friend!

  5. I just really want to get up early now so I can call myself a “morning bird!”
    Honestly- since getting married….it’s been the hardest time for me to be faithful in getting up, but I am happy to say that Adam and I are getting into a good routine now, and I am SO thankful for that!
    I LOVE the early mornings, the birds chirping outside, coffee and Jesus before most people are up….and a chance to start the day right.
    I think these tips are SO true and really applicable though, great post (as always) Rachel! 🙂

    • Amy! I always love reading your comments 🙂 Thank you.

      “Morning Bird” sounds so cheerful, doesn’t it?! It’s absolutely a way to start the day off on the right foot…time with Jesus and coffee, mmhmm!

      Having your husband be on the same sleep schedule is such a blessing, and it definitely makes it easier to get up!!

  6. I really, really love this! I have such a hard time getting up early and it’s been on my heart to learn how for a while! I know it takes discipline. It’s hard because my husband is one of those people who can just pop out of bed whenever he decides to, I feel like my body will not let me wake up before 7, but I guess that’s just an excuse, haha. I’m definitely going to take these tips and try to implement this! I love knowing that it took six months for you to really feel like you had made that switch! Good to know 🙂

  7. I’m usually a morning person, but lately it’s been impossible for me to get out of bed on time. Maybe I need some new motivation. Thanks for the thoughts!

  8. Hey Rachel! These tips are great! I used to be great at early rising a few years ago and I’ve been wanting to get back into it so I will definitely be putting these thoughts into play 🙂 thanks!

  9. Yes, this is such a great post! I have slowly become a morning person..mostly out of habit of waking up early during the school year. It’s summertime, and I can’t sleep past 9:30, which used to be SUPER early for me! I’ve grown to really love to morning time. The days seem longer and more productive, plus I have “me” time which is essential to my sanity. 😉

  10. Very interesting video. I have always been an early bird, I do not use an alarm clock either, but go to bed entirely too late. My mind cannot stop running from the day unless I completely focus on something like playing sudoku.

    • Hey Amy! Glad you liked the video!

      It’s so great when your body can wake itself up without an alarm clock! I’m like you, though…I need to wind down at night before bed, or else I can’t fall asleep. Have you tried journalling before you fall asleep?

  11. Nice post! I needed to hear this today! 🙂 by the way, I just found your blog from the Jack of all trades link up and I’m glad I did! Excited to be following along now via Bloglovin!

  12. Pingback: Lovely Does It

  13. I love mornings! it’s pretty well the only time my house is quiet, so I just need to soak up time with the Heavenly Father 🙂 lately I’ve been having trouble getting back into the groove of early rising so thank you for your tips! 🙂

  14. Oh snap. Here you go again. I was on a 7 am kick for a while, but i’ve been slacking off. Rachel, will you be my accountability partner?? Haha, Miles enjoys sleeping in as much as I do now!

  15. This is awesome 🙂 I’m so glad I came across your blog today! (Coming to you via Amy from Lovely Does It.) I can so relate to this… I used to be such a night owl and lately have been enjoying quiet, early mornings with just me and my coffee. These are great tips though on the hard days 😉

  16. Pingback: Lovely Does It

  17. Pingback: Midweek Reads #15 | Goedeker's Home Life

join the conversation!

