Hello August

Hello August

Linking up with The Tiny Twig – Goals with Grace!

There are two weeks of summer left.

Whaaaat?!

Hans starts back at teaching and I start my final semester in undergrad. We’re trying to grasp the last bits of summer…holding tightly to our back porch dinners, sleeping in, Harry Potter movie nights and quiet afternoons. The stillness of the mornings, as sunshine tumbles into our bedroom and we snuggle sleepily together under the sun-dried sheets…it’s bliss that I’ll miss.

July just went too quickly. Too quickly for me to knock out all of my goals.

Nah. Homegirl just got a little lazy. But August is going to be buuuuusy, so that’s ok, right?

My July Goals
1. Pray with Hans about future ministry involvement | Yes. Hans and I live near one of the worst neighborhoods in Topeka…like, this neighborhood has the highest infancy mortality rate in the entire state. Our church is part of a ministry in that area: focused on reducing homelessness, increasing education, and empowering families. We’re confident this is where God is leading us.
2. Read 3 books that inspire me | Almost…1 1/2 books!
3. Organize + Strategize for OYD | Yes! I made progress, though not as much as I’d hoped.
4. Memorize Psalm 16 | Almost done!
5. Look into IRA’s | No. Ugh. I don’t want to talk about it.

For what it’s worth, Hans and I did do some Dave Ramsey reading and talk about IRA’s. We just haven’t officially set anything up yet. Hey, but we did look into life insurance! Do we get grown-up points for that?

August Goals
1. Read through Proverbs
2. Encourage Hans as he starts the school year
3. Prepare for my semester
4. Transfer OYD to wordpress.org! YAY!
5. Go to the gym at least 3 mornings a week

I just started my second set of Lara Casey PowerSheets, too. As Lara says, the PowerSheets don’t do the work for you. But they do help you make a plan to make your goals happen. They are a great planning and vision-casting tool, and I don’t regret a penny that I spent on them!

How are you going to spend the rest of your summer?

Under Grace,
Rachel

Other Lovely Reads…
Stripes + Gold (a great capsule wardrobe outfit)
How To Build A Blogging Community
THIS Gorgeous Black Tie Beach Wedding
A Prayer About Community
How To Find Time For Reading

The Tiny Twig

19 thoughts on “Hello August

  1. Oooo so exciting that you’re going to move over to self-hosted!! I can’t wait to see those changes 🙂 And going to the gym is an awesome goal. I definitely need to work on that. ~Jenna // A Mama Collective

  2. Hey Rachel! I’ve never heard the difference between wordpress.com vs wordpress.org but I hope it makes your life easier!

    I get a pretty nice discount to the gym at the university I work at but I still don’t seem to go very often. I need to make it a priority again this fall. I would suggest finding a friend to work out with you, it might be a good motivator to go! I know I need that to be motivated!

    • Hey Lauren! The difference between .com and .org is kind of confusing, but I’m looking forward to getting it figured out 🙂

      And YES! My friend happens to be my husband…we got a family membership so we both need to use it! Would Reed be able to go with you?

  3. Hi Rachel – I recently went from .com to .org with godaddy as my host. It was fairly painless and really am enjoying the freedom I have on my blog now. Hope you enjoy the gym – I love working out and am trying to train for an obstacle competition. 🙂 crazy, I know.

  4. I hope your goals this month go awesome! Praying for you in them!
    And I am so encouraged that you and Hans feel God’s clear direction for ministry! Yay for answered prayers! 🙂
    And also…..wordpress.org….yes! 🙂
    I hope the transition goes well!

    • Hey Sarah! Right now I’m reading “Boundaries” by Cloud and Townsend (I’m almost done and it’s been SUCH a blessing to read) and then I’ve just started “Abundant Simplicity” by Jan Johnson. Both are excellent books that I would highly recommend!
      And thank you! Hans and I are excited to start serving!

  5. so fun! It is funny that for sutudents and teachers summer is measured differently! I see summer continuing until the leaves start falling and the sun is not up as long as it used to be after work. We joke about it all the time because for us, it is just all the same. the only thing that changes is we can play outside after work and on the weekends!!

  6. Yay! Welcome to .org! And I’d love to hear what you read that you enjoyed. And your summer DOES sound blissful! Glad you’re soaking that up! Best wishes for a sweet entrance into August.

  7. Pingback: August Goals | Dandelion Discoveries

join the conversation!

