One Year Later

One Year Later

September 7th, 2013. The day everything changed.

Let me tell you, friend. Marriage is not for the faint of heart. Loving another person day-in and day-out takes serious chutzpah. It’s the sweetest and most uncontainable joy, and can cause the deepest and most frustrating sorrow. Because, hello, we’re all sinners and one sinner plus one sinner does not equal blissful happy ever after. It equals a really big need for Jesus.

And you know what? He cares deeply for marriage. He gives more grace. Hallelujah.

The wedding day is just the beginning. It’s the start to a meaningful married life.

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

Rose Wheat Photography

All photos credit of the sensational Emma | Rose Wheat Photography. Want to binge on some more of our wedding photos? Go here.

Fancy this post? Check out Our Wedding StoryWhat Six Months of Marriage Has Taught Me and 5 1/2 Things You Need To Do After You Get Engaged.

Under Grace,
Rachel

Other Lovely Reads…
An Organic Maryland Farm Wedding
Marriage Goals
How To Style A Bookshelf
Cassie’s Wedding Photos!
Thoughts On Hospitality

Linking up for a Coffee Date with Jenna from Dearest Love and Jenna from A Mama Collective!

Coffee Date - A Link Up

 

29 thoughts on “One Year Later

  1. OH MY GOODNESS. It’s just impossible to contain all of the sweetness in this post!!!

    First off, you’re so right about marriage. It’s such a beautiful picture of grace and forgiveness and all things lovely. Jesus is so faithful to bless marriages that truly seek Him.

    Secondly, how perfect was your wedding day?! At least it looks like it! Being a photographer myself, it looks like the perfect wedding to shoot! Ah, love it! And those sunflowers hidden everywhere.. Adore 🙂

    Happy one year anniversary! God is good, isn’t He?

    Blessings xoxoxo

    • Hello, Katie!! Thank you so much…your sweet words always encourage me! God is SO good!
      Yes, I am SO thankful that Jesus loves marriage and that He is so faithful about giving the grace we need.
      HA – thank you for thinking our wedding day was perfect! It was actually 107 degrees, and our photographer made it look effortless!

  2. RACHEL OH MY GOSH!!!!!!! Happy one year first of all, second everything is PERFECT, and third you are absolutely flawless! Your gold Toms!!!! And seriously, marriage is SO HARD! I love these photos so much, thank you for sharing!!!!!!!!

    • Cassie! Thank you!! Girl, I’ve been so inspired by all your wedding photo posts! I don’t think I have the patience to do detailed posts like you did, so I’m glad you still liked this little glimpse into our wedding day 🙂
      You’re right – marriage is so hard. But so worth it, amen?!
      HA – as far as the day being perfect…it was 107 degrees outside! Not so perfect for an outdoor wedding, but our photographer nailed it like a boss anyways! She rocked!
      PS – Toms, because homegirl wasn’t going to wear heels all day 😉

  3. I am in love with this! Of course I had to pop over and stalk the rest of the photos which are all amazing! I just went through the wedding story, because I had to know about the two different dresses! I love that y’all proclaimed your love for one another and your faith in Jesus as a part of your ceremony. I’ve never heard of that being done before and I just love it!

    • Teehee, Madison! Thank you so much, friend! Yes, it’s sort of hard to explain the whole two dresses/two parts of the ceremony thing…but it was a really intentional (if unconventional) decision for Hans and I. If we were going to have all of our friends and family in one place, we wanted to take the opportunity to shout Jesus loud and clear!

  4. These photos could make me cry they are SO beautiful!
    You guys LOVE each other and it totally shows!
    Congratulations on one year my friend! It’s a HUGE accomplishment and really does take so much grace to see it through! Here’s to many many many more happy, Christ centered and glorifying years of marriage for you guys! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Lovely Does It

  6. Oh my goodness….where do I begin? These photos are gorgeous…I love the gold Toms, the apple pies, the picture where Hans is hugging you & holding your hands behind your back, I love your dress with the gold neckline, your brides praying over you& the altar. This post makes me so happy! Thank you for sharing.

  7. I love this! I have been married a year and 3 months. and it is so true, being married is not easy. It takes work, and selflessness. Something I battle with regularly. This post made me tear up a bit. It was great thanks for sharing. Oh and I have an anchor tattoo, too. Only it is on my rib cage.

  8. Oh my goodness gracious alive! These are STUNNING photos! Everything about your day was absolutely perfect–the bunting, lights, barn, your dress, the TOMS, the cake! Ahhhh! I love all of the personalized details, too. I can tell you put thought into every single bit and piece!

    Happy anniversary!!!

  9. Came by via Sage the Blog 🙂 LOVE your photos – happy anniversary!! I must ask because our dresses were so similar in the bodice, was your dress by Paloma Blanca too?? Gorgeous!!

  10. Beautiful photos from a beautiful event, pointing to a beautiful Savior and his love for his bride. Happy anniversary, Hans and Rachel! May you continue to reflect the love of Christ for the church; and here’s to more fun, intimate, challenging, encouraging, and character-building experiences for you both!

  11. I Love all your pictures! So beautiful! I got married September 14, 2013 so exactly a year after you… And I 100% agree with you… Marriage is not for the faint of heart but oh so very beautiful!

join the conversation!

