#SheSharesTruth | The Woman of Folly

She Reads Truth | Hosea

Linking up with She Reads Truth and their She Shares Truth assignment!
Find the whole Hosea study from She Reads Truth here.

Mmkay.

You know what? I don’t want to talk about anything personal today. Not yet. Unless you want to bring me some coffee here in the library because Hans made my coffee this morning. Bless his heart for that kindness, but he never makes it strong enough.

I’m like, “It should resemble the viscosity of used motor oil.”

Anyways.

Nope, I don’t want to talk about the heart of this post yet, so I’m just going to throw a bunch of scripture at you and you can go ahead and skim through it while I sit over here hemming and hawing like an idiot.

Alright? Alright.

Ahem.

The first several chapters of Proverbs talk about the Woman of Folly, a saucy wench who presumably sneaks around the city, hoodwinking unsuspecting young men with her honey-scented lipgloss and treacherously long eyelashes and shanghai-ing them away to her mystical apartment that is festooned with silky pillows and probably smells like a candle store.

Proverbs 2:16-19 So you will be delivered from the forbidden woman, from the adulteress with her smooth words, who forsakes the companion of her youth and forgets the covenant of her God; for her house sinks down to death, and her paths to the departed; none who go to her come back, nor do they regain the paths of life.

Proverbs 5:3-5 For the lips of a forbidden woman drip honey, and her speech is smoother than oil, but in the end she is bitter as wormwood, sharp as a two-edged sword. Her feet go down to death; her steps follow the path to Sheol…

Proverbs 7:10-22 And behold, the woman meets him, dressed as a prostitute, wily of heart. She is loud and wayward; her feet do not stay at home; now in the street, now in the market, and at every corner she lies in wait. She seizes him and kisses him, and with bold face she says to him …

“I have spread my couch with coverings, colored linens from Egyptian linen; I have perfumed my bed with myrrh, aloes, and cinnamon. Come, let us take our fill of love till morning; let us delight ourselves with love. For my husband is not at home; he has gone on a long journey…”

With much seductive speech she persuades him; with her smooth talk she compels him. All at once he follows her, as an ox goes to the slaughter.

Miss honey lips reminds me an awful lot of another woman in the Bible – Gomer in Hosea. Another prostitute, another woman running from her husband and her God. Another woman taking her life into her own hands, driven by fear and folly. Another woman bent on destroying herself and anyone she can take down with her. Another woman choosing death instead of life.

We don’t know exactly why they’re doing what they’re doing, but can I take a guess? Fear.

Fear that God isn’t really trustworthy, that His ways aren’t really the best ways, that He isn’t really good.

While I’ve never been a prostitute and I’ve certainly never cheated on my husband…I’m a runner. There are times that I will madly run away from the love of my husband and the love of Jesus. I want to stay angry, I’m afraid of letting them in, I’m out to pridefully prove some ridiculous point. I want to run my own show, thankyouverymuch, because I’m afraid of letting God have control.

I wonder if that’s what the Proverbs prostitute and Gomer felt like. If they felt afraid to live in the light. Maybe they, like me, had a hard time trusting that God’s love is enough and that He would take them back, that His love was truly better than any love they could find on this earth. I wonder if they feared that His commands weren’t really for their good.

Folly, folly, folly. All three of us.

There’s another kind of fear that would save us…fear of the Lord. That holy reverence and humble dependence that puts us in our rightful place and God in His. Because within Proverb’s first breath, we are told that that fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom…and wisdom is the antonym of folly.

Proverbs 1:7 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction.

Our own folly will lead to death. The wisdom of the Lord leads to life.

Why do you think we run away from God?

Under Grace,
Rachel

Other Lovely Reads…
Coconut Oil Chocolate Chip Cookies
You Are More Than Sin and Bones
In the Homemaking Mood
Creating a Color Palette for Your Capsule Wardrobe
Foodie Favorites (um, hello menu inspiration!)

Linking up with Chantel from A Harvest Of Blessing!

A Harvest of Blessing

18 thoughts on “#SheSharesTruth | The Woman of Folly

  1. Great insights, dear! Loved the connection to Proverbs. Makes me think a lot about Eve as well. It was fear and doubt of God being not enough that we made it into this whole mess of sin in the first place, isn’t it! Love ya!

  2. “Fear that God isn’t really trustworthy, that His ways aren’t really the best ways, that He isn’t really good.”

    Yes, exactly. I have been realizing that I too have believed these lies. I have been afraid. But isn’t it so good of Him to lead us gently into that realization and then show us the way to truth?

  3. Love the parallels Rachel! There is such freedom to be found when we name our fears!! That is something I have slowly been learning the past few years. My fears are only holding me back from the crazy beautiful life that God has for me! When I give those up to Him, there is truly nothing else to fear, hallelujah!

  4. Tricky, tricky Rachel. You’re all, “I don’t want to talk about anything personal today”, so I’m not expecting the “Okay, here we go with the personal admissions, so yeah go ahead and tear up at your work desk about how comforting it is to know I’m sometimes over here running too.” Ugh. Good one. But seriously…good one.

  5. Found you through the link up!
    You’re very insightful. My husband and I were just talking about life in the terms of running yesterday. I think a lot of times we get fearful or insecure because we stop focusing on our own race and start comparing it to other people’s races.

join the conversation!

