Where To Find Simplicity

Where To Find Simplicity

A simple life is a Gospel-centered life.

In any area – mentally, physically, spiritually, relationally – the sweetest simplicity is found by starting in Jesus.

For the month of October, that will be the topic of our conversation, friend. I’m joining in with Myquillyn Smith of the Nesting Place for her 31 Day Writing Challenge, and – considering I’m typing this and my husband is already asleep – I’m off to a *smashing* start.

But in all seriousness, I’m doing this Challenge because 1.) I haven’t written about simplicity in a while, even though it’s one of my biggest passions (Can’t wait? I wrote a whole series on simplicity earlier this year!) and 2.) I’m up for a challenge. And 3.) I want to inspire and encourage YOU.

Here’s my heart for you, friend.

I want your life to be so inwardly anchored in the Gospel that it overflows into outward simplicity.

This is where I think the Internet gets it wrong. You can google a million articles on how to declutter or organize your home, but these things are merely behavior modification if an attitude of simplicity has not taken root in your heart.

We’re going to start with the heart, then work outwards.

There will be plenty of practical posts from now until October 31st – don’t you worry! – but let’s start with His kingdom and righteousness first. After all, scripture promises that “all these things” will be added to us when we do.

Matthew 6:33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

I think our problems arise when we try and flip this verse…seeking allthethings and expecting to get God’s kingdom thrown in. I know I’ve made that mistake! So, for the next 31 days we’re going to simply seek Him first, and move towards simplicity from there. Ok? Ok.

What areas of life do YOU want to simplify? Let me know! I would love to address a specific topic that interests you!

Under Grace,
Rachel

PS – Y’all, I have so. much. email and blogging catchup to do. I’m sorry! Influence Conference was lovely and Gospel-centered and sort of like trying to drink from a firehose…and then I swung back into real life. Which is a full time university schedule, part time work, and a husband and home. Bear with me, please! I’ll get to it all just as soon as I can – I promise!

16 thoughts on “Where To Find Simplicity

  1. So glad to see you doing this Rachel!
    I just want to catch up with you SO bad about the conference/life/marriage/blogging/ etc! Let’s make it happen soon girl!

    You can count me in on this series! I will be reading along with you faithfully friend- cause I love to hear your heart and passion for this. I am feeling encouraged reading this this evening, remembering to seek Christ alone before all the other outward stuff I’m “working on”, trying to do, or wanting in my life. Christ first, and always.

    Thanks sweet Rachel for your heart!

    • Girl, how about we Skype sometime soon?? I have owed you an email since, like, the dark ages. I miss your face.

      Thank you so much for your encouragement, Amy. It humbles me and makes me so grateful that you’re going to be reading along – I so value your presence here on OYD.

      Yes – Christ first! It’s a simple thing to read (and write!) but so much harder to put into practice. We’re going to figure it out together, yes?

  2. I totally know how crazy life can be trying to juggle everything! I am in the same boat with ya, girl! I’m excited to get to know more of your heart through your passion for simplicity! Have an awesome & grace-filled week, my friend! 🙂

  3. So excited you are doing 31 days of writing Rachel!! I am excited to follow along and push each other in this challenge! 🙂

  4. I am so glad you are doing this! This topic is near and dear to my heart and something that I have been thinking and reading on more and more lately. I can’t wait to hear your words this month! Catching up this morning on your posts so far and loving what I see!

  5. Pingback: Lovely Does It

join the conversation!

