The One Enemy Of Simplicity

The One Enemy of Simplicity

I honestly think that fear is the biggest enemy of simplicity.

Think about it.

When I fear that I will never be good in the kitchen, I load my shelves with cookbooks.
When I fear that people will not respect my “no”, I fill my schedule with commitments.
When I fear that I will not lose the weight, I hang onto jeans that are 3 sizes ago.
When I fear that I will be abandoned, I hoard relationships…even unhealthy ones.
When I fear that people will not like my personality, I stuff my closet with flashy, trendy clothes.

A life full of fear is a life empty of simplicity.

When we let fear win, we hurt ourselves. Clutter (physical, mental, spiritual, emotional…) is heavy, yes? A simple life is a lightened life, while a cluttered life lugs things around like bricks in a burlap sack.

When I inspect, I see that – at the root – all my fears have to do with a need for approval and love. I want to be a good cook so that my friends and family will like me. I want to loose weight so I will feel more attractive. I want people to like me, so I say “yes” to letting unhealthy relationships and extracurricular commitments consume my time.

But what if I could let go of those burdensome fears and exchange them for one simple truth?

Jesus is enough.

He will always be the richest fulfillment.
He will always provide for all of my needs (not wants, needs…we’ll get to that later).
He will always approve of me, call me worthy, and find me lovely.
He will always give more grace.
He will always bring me closer to perfection in His love.

I John 4:18 There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.

As we walk side by side through October, friend, let me remind you of this – In Christ, we have nothing. to. fear. We can let go of fear and move forward towards Him, and the simple life He longs for us to live.

If you’re honest, what fears are cluttering your life right now?

Under Grace,
Rachel

8 thoughts on “The One Enemy Of Simplicity

    • Hey there, Martha Kate! Thank you so much for stopping in! Looking at fear as the enemy of simplicity definitely makes it easier to let go of things. If we start with Jesus, believing and knowing that He is enough, it becomes so much easier to put everything else into perspective!

  1. I love this post!! Never thought about fear that way but it is true. I’ve let go of a lot of things over the past few yrs and it definately is better to not kling to the things of this world. It makes me feel just that much closer to heaven.

  2. Beautifully said! I definitely agree, and this is a good way to think of it.

    When I am tempted to fill my closet, life, schedule, or house with more more more- I need to think that to myself….Jesus is enough.

  3. love this post! Simplicity and living simply has always been on my mind and a goal of mine for several years now, and I’ve never thought of it from the perspective of fear and how it keeps us from living as simply as we could. Great perspective!

join the conversation!

