Seasons

Seasons

I’m co-hosting this month’s Community Brew linkup with Madison and Rachel!

Do you know what Kansas weather is like?

Abrupt.

There is no graceful, gradual, gentle sweeping of one season to the next. Last week, we had a perfectly crisp autumn day in the mid-60’s, and then this fair state went all ALS Ice Bucket Challenge on us and gleefully dumped blisteringly frigid winter weather the. very. next. day.

(Me? Bitter? Nah.)

Seasons are a tricky thing…we love them and we hate them. One moment we’re anxiously awaiting summer, the next we’re complaining about the heat. We get excited about scarves and pumpkin spice lattes, and two months later we’re whining about the snow.

Aren’t seasons in life the same way?

We can become chronically discontent with our lives, ever wishing for the next season while ignoring the one the LORD has placed us in. We buy into the lie that where we are now is not as important as where we will be sometime in the future. But don’t you know? The LORD has specific purposes for the specific seasons we’re in.

God is teaching me that sometimes He brings about a season for my holiness instead of my happiness. A tough or uncertain season leads me to rely on Him more and dig more deeply into His grace. He’s teaching me that I need to approach each season of life with open hands, asking Him how He wants to use it…instead of approaching each season with a list of demands for Him to fulfill. He’s teaching me the need to trust and lean into Him in every season, because I do not have enough strength on my own.

Isaiah 40:31 …but those who trust in the LORD will renew their strength; they will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary; they will walk and not faint.

My current season of life is centered around my last semester as an undergrad student. I’ve been frustrated at God, complaining about essays and assignments when I’d rather be blogging. Yet, He’s reminded me that this season is a blessing…that I have the opportunity to complete an education that only a fraction of the people in the world have. He’s teaching me to rely on Him in the mundane business of research and writing…that those things are indeed glorifying to Him.

This season has purpose. The cold winter months always yield into springtime.

Interested in joining Madison and Rachel and I for the Community Brew link up? Add your post using the link below!

An InLinkz Link-up

What is God teaching you in your current season?

Under Grace,
Rachel

One thought on “Seasons

  1. Everything you said is exactly where I am.

    I have given up multiple times this past week, crying & ignoring God because I’m angry about this unit plan that I have to finish by tomorrow.
    I’m angry that I’m still not done with school.
    It’s my last semester of undergrad classes and I am angry that it’s not easier. I’m angry that I’ve lost motivation and focus.

    But God has been so patient with me, reminding me through day to day things (like this post) that I need to cling to Him, and remember why He has me here. He’s preparing me for the calling He gave me, and giving me the time for closure between friends and family before Caleb and I make the big move overseas that we have been dreaming about for forever.

    It’s not easy, but it’s necessary.

join the conversation!

